Bachelor of Architecture

The Bachelor of Architecture Program integrates critical, artistic, and material approaches to the study and practice of architecture.


Accredited Curriculum

The five-year, NAAB-accredited* professional degree program is committed to experiments in alternative models of practice, design, and fabrication. The curriculum accordingly brings developments in culture, media, and technology to bear on the process of architectural production, allowing students to capitalize on new opportunities in a rapidly changing profession.

Bay Area Setting

Our metropolitan setting informs the educational experience; the city of San Francisco functions as an urban laboratory, inspiring new ways to configure and inhabit architecture. Throughout their studies, students are encouraged to collaborate within and across disciplines to take full advantage of CCA's studio culture.

Lecture Series

The program actively seeks the participation of leading international figures for studio instruction, juried reviews, and an ambitious Architecture Division Lecture Series program.

Professional Internships

Through the required internship, students have the opportunity to work at architectural firms in the United States and abroad. Architecture Program students also regularly enter and place in design competitions.

About Accreditation & Licensure

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the bachelor of architecture, the master of architecture, and the doctor of architecture.

A program may be granted a six-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of architecture and master of architecture degree programs may consist of a preprofessional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education.

However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

CCA's NAAB-Accredited Degree Programs

Architecture Program (undergraduate or BArch): 165 credits required
Master of Architecture (graduate or MArch): non-preprofessional degree + 90 credits required

CCA's Architecture Program was granted a formal six-year term of re-accreditation, effective January 1, 2011. The Master of Architecture Program is fully accredited. (The next NAAB re-accreditation visit is scheduled for 2017.)