Friday Seminar with Julia Glass

The Writers Series is presented as part of the MFA Program in Writing
October 14, 2011, 3:30–5:00 pm

150 De Haro at 15th Street

Free and open to the public
More info: Teresa Walsh,

Julia Glass is an American novelist. Her debut novel, Three Junes, won the National Book Award in 2002. Glass's second novel, The Whole World Over (2006), was also set in the Bank Street, Greenwich Village universe with three interwoven stories featuring several characters from Three Junes. Other novels include I See You Everywhere (2008) and The Widower’s Tale (2010).

Glass was born in Boston, grew up in Lincoln, Massachusetts, and attended Concord Academy. She graduated from Yale in 1978. Intending to become a painter, she moved to New York, where she lived for many years, painting in a small studio in Brooklyn and supporting herself as a freelance editor and copy editor, including several years in the copy department of Cosmopolitan magazine.

She lives in Marblehead, Massachusetts, with her partner, the photographer Dennis Cowley, and their two children, and works as a freelance journalist and editor. She is a previous winner of the William Faulkner - William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition.