Lecture by Cristina Diaz Moreno and Efren Garcia Grinda, AMID.cero9

Architecture Lecture Series
October 17, 2011, 7:00–9:00 pm
Timken Lecture Hall, San Francisco Campus

Info: 415.703.9562 or architecture@cca.edu

"Everything is pop (and therefore nothing can really be pop anymore). Today any kind of cultural source is inserted in an ever-changing network of meanings and symbols. As a result, any distinction between high culture and pop has been replaced by a vast network of interwoven links, from multiple origins, which modulate the way in which each product is conceived, assembled and received. This is the space of interaction in which AMID.cero9 works, rethinking and producing buildings as third natures. This process of gathering and assembling post-subcultural materials into third natures is for AMID.cero9 to dream of the collective, to image the public realm in a subversive manner in the pursuit of extreme and radical forms of beauty."

AMID.cero9 is Cristina Díaz Moreno and Efrén García Grinda. Their works include the Opera Prima 2010, a prize-winning Industrial Building for Diagonal 80 in Madrid, and the Cherry Tree Blossom Pavilion, which was exhibited in the 12th Venice Architecture Biennale. They are regular contributors to El Croquis magazine. Since 1998 they have taught at ETSAM and ESAYA, and have been visiting teachers at Cornell University, Paris-Malaquais, ESARQ, and EPSA. They have won more than 30 prizes in national and international competitions, and their projects and writings have been collected in Breathable and From Cero9 to AMID.

The 2011-12 Architecture Lecture Series is funded by Grants for the Arts / San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund; InterContinental San Francisco; Hellmuth, Obata & Kassabaum, Inc.; Jensen Architects; John Marx / Form4; McCall Design Group; Perkins + Will; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP; SmithGroup; WRNS Studio; WSP Flack + Kurtz; ARCH Art and Drafting Supply; BraytonHughes Design Studios; FME Architecture and Design; Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects; Long & Levit LLP; SRG Partnership; Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture; Auerbach Pollock Friedlander | Auerbach Glasow French; BAR Architects; Dome Construction Corporation; Donald MacDonald Architects; J.H. Fitzmaurice Construction; ProPM, Inc.; TANNERHECHT Architecture; and Turnbull Griffin Haesloop Architects.