Lecture by Theodore Spyropoulos, minimaforms

Architecture Lecture Series
September 10, 2012 7:00 pm
Timken Lecture Hall, San Francisco Campus

Info: 415.703.9562 or architecture@cca.edu

Theodore Spyropoulos is an architect and educator. He is the director of the Architectural Association's world-renowned Design Research Lab (DRL) in London. He has been a visiting Research Fellow at MIT's Center for Advanced Visual Studies working with the Interrogative Design Group, and he cofounded the New Media Research Initiative at the Architectural Association.

Spyropoulos has taught in the graduate school of the University of Pennsylvania, and in the Royal College of Art, Innovation Design Engineering Department. Previously he has worked as a project architect for the offices of Peter Eisenman and Zaha Hadid Architects. He has studied at the AA, Bartlett School of Architecture and the New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Spyropoulos directs the experimental architecture and design studio minimaforms with his brother, Stephen Spyropoulos. Recent projects include a series of thematic landmarks for a Renzo Piano master-planned national park in Athens; a large-scale work of Land art in Norway; a vehicle in collaboration with the artist Krzysztof Wodiczko; and an immersive ephemeral environment for the city of Detroit.

The work of minimaforms is in the collections of the FRAC Centre, Orléans, France; the Signum Foundation, Poznań, Poland; and the Archigram Archive, U.K. In 2008 their project Memory Cloud was named one of the top 10 international art installations by the Telegraph.

The firm has recently exhibited its work at the Museum of Modern Art, New York; the Detroit Institute of Arts; the Institute of Contemporary Arts, London; FRAC Centre, Orléans, France; Futura Gallery, Prague; Slovak National Gallery, Bratislava, Slovakia; the Architecture Foundation, London; Arco, Madrid; UTS: Gallery, Sydney; and Palazzo Donà, Venice.

Generous support for CCA public programs in San Francisco has been provided by Grants for the Arts / San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund.

The 2012-13 Architecture Lecture Series is funded by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP; Jensen Architects; John Marx / Form4 Architecture; Perkins+Will; Pfau Long Architecture Ltd.; STUDIOS Architecture; WSP Flack+Kurtz; ARCH Art Supply; BraytonHughes Design Studios; GCI; Long & Levit LLP; SFMOMA A+D Forum; Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture; Blasen Landscape Architecture; John A. Raeber, Architectural Specifications; and Ratcliff.