Reading by Aimee Phan & Anita Amirrezvani

Presented as part of the Writers Series (MFA Program in Writing)
October 5, 2012, 3:30–5:00 pm

195 De Haro at 15th Street
Free and open to the public

More info: David Morini, or 415.551.9237

CCA's Writers Series is open to the public and hosted by the MFA Program in Writing. Featured events also comprise the Friday Seminar course requirement for MFA Writing candidates.

About Aimee Phan

Aimee Phan chairs CCA's MFA in Writing and Writing and Literature Programs. Her just-released novel, The Reeducation of Cherry Truong (2012) has already received excellent reviews.

Phan’s first book, We Should Never Meet (Picador 2005), was named a notable book by the Kiriyama Prize in fiction and a finalist for the 2005 Asian American Literary Awards. She was a 2010 National Endowment of the Arts Creative Writing Fellow also was awarded a Maytag Fellowship. Phan earned her MFA from the University of Iowa.

“The Reeducation of Cherry Truong* explores the intersection of history and human hearts. With tenderness and wisdom, this intricately woven tale presents a world both mysterious and familiar to readers. Aimee Phan is a keen observer and a beautiful writer.”

-- Yiyun Li, author of The Vagrants

About Anita Amirrezvani

Anita Amirrezvani was born in Tehran and raised in San Francisco. Her first novel, The Blood of Flowers (Hachette Digital 2007), has appeared in more than 25 languages and was long-listed for the 2008 Orange Prize for Fiction.

Next she published the novel, Equal of the Sun (Scribner 2012). Tremors: New Fiction by Iranian-American Writers, an anthology coedited by Amirrezvani and Persis Karim, will appear in spring 2013.

[InEqual of the Sun]“Anita Amirrezvani evokes Shahrazad in this mesmerizing tale of a princess and her eunuch advisor in sixteenth-century Iran. Employing language as lush and exotic as its setting, she gives us a novel about love, devotion, trust, intrigue, and, ultimately, justice.”

-- Bill Cusumano, Nicola Books

Learn more about CCA's Writers Series, including upcoming and past guests »