Writers Remembered

Presented by the Writers Series (MFA Program in Writing)
March 1, 2013, 7:00–9:00 pm
Writers’ Studio, San Francisco Campus

195 De Haro at 15th Street
Free and open to the public

More info: David Morini, dmorini@cca.edu or 415.551.9237

Writers Remembered is a unique program that was developed at the San Francisco Public Library around 2000 as a way to allow both writers and the general reading public honor as well as attain some form of closure for the loss of writers, both local and national, year by year.

Writers Remembered is em-cee'd mainly by Gerald Nicosia with occasional cohosts or helpers.

The main feature is the match-up between tribute-giver and deceased writer; often times the writer is memorialized by a personal acquaintance or friend or partner, or by someone who had a deep love or appreciation of the person's work.

Please join us for tributes given to John Updike, Larry Gelbart, Roberto Valenza, J. D. Salinger, Leslie Scalapino, Peter Orlovsky, Vance Bourjaily, Theodore Sorensen, Harold Norse, Lenore Kandel, Janine Pommy Vega, Victor Martinez, Ira Cohen, Karla Andersdatter, Henry Carlisle Jr., Scott Wannberg, Mel Clay, Christopher Hitchens, Adrienne Rich, Carlos Fuentes, Ray Bradbury, Gore Vidal, and others.

Tributes given by Jason Roberts, Jody Weiner, Terry Tarnoff, Sharon Doubiago, Gerald Nicosia, Yasmin Mogul, Tom Barbash, Todd Swindell, Steve Sanfield, Anne Marino, Tate Swindell, Marc Olmsted, Rosemary Manno, Gloria Frym, Caroline Goodwin, and others.