**CANCELED**: Lecture by Bjarke Ingels

Architecture Lecture Series
January 23, 2014 12:00 pm
Timken Lecture Hall, San Francisco Campus

Free and open to the public
Info: 415.703.9562 or architecture@cca.edu

Attention: Due to unforeseen circumstances, this lecture has been canceled. We apologize for any inconvenience.

BIG (Bjarke Ingels Group) is a group of architects, designers, builders, and thinkers based in Copenhagen and New York, operating within the fields of architecture, urbanism, research, and development. The office is currently involved in numerous projects throughout Europe, North America, Asia, and the Middle East.

BIG’s architecture emerges out of a careful analysis of how contemporary life constantly evolves under influences related to multicultural exchange, global economical flows, and communication technologies, which all require new ways of architectural and urban organization.

Bjarke Ingels started BIG in 2005 after cofounding PLOT Architects in 2001 and working at OMA in Rotterdam. Through a series of award-winning design projects and buildings, he has developed a reputation for designing buildings that are as programmatically and technically innovative as they are cost and resource conscious.

Ingels has received numerous awards and honors, including the Danish Crown Prince’s Culture Prize in 2011, the Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale in 2004, and the ULI Award for Excellence in 2009. In 2011, the Wall Street Journal awarded him the Architectural Innovator of the Year Award.

In 2012, the American Institute of Architects granted the 8 House its Honor Award, calling it “a complex and exemplary project of a new typology.”

Alongside his architectural practice, Ingels has taught at Harvard University, Yale University, Columbia University, and Rice University, and he is an honorary professor at the Royal Academy of Arts, School of Architecture in Copenhagen.

He is a frequent public speaker and has spoken in venues such as TED, WIRED, AMCHAM, 10 Downing Street, and the World Economic Forum.

The 2013-14 Architecture Lecture Series is funded by Grants for the Arts/San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP; Jensen Architects; John Marx / Form4; Kava Massih Architects; McCall Design Group; Perkins+Will; Pfau Long Architecture; SmithGroupJJR; BraytonHughes Design Studios; Cary Bernstein Architect; Harley Ellis Devereaux; Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects; Levy Design Partners; Stanley Saitowitz | Natoma Architects Inc.; Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture; ARCH Art & Drafting Supply; Blasen Landscape Architecture; David Gissen and Rachel Schreiber; Donald MacDonald, Architects; Gregory Andreas & Judith Rosenberg; Johanna Spilman; TANNERHECHT Architecture; and Group i.