Lecture by Luis Callejas

Architecture Lecture Series
April 21, 2014 7:00 pm
Timken Lecture Hall, San Francisco Campus

Free and open to the public
Info: 415.703.9562 or architecture@cca.edu

LCLA operates at the intersection of architecture, landscape, and urbanism, oriented toward new forms of engagement with the public realm through territorial operations. It was founded in 2011 by Luis Callejas, and today operates out of offices in Medellín, Colombia, and Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Having obtained diverse recognition in multiple public space design competitions, Callejas was awarded the Architectural League of New York Prize for Young Architects in 2013 and was selected as one of the world’s 10 best young practices by the Iakov Chernikhov International Foundation in 2010.

In 2010, Callejas, together with Edgar Mazo and Sebastian Mejia as Paisajes Emergentes, completed the aquatic centre for the XI South American games, a 20,000-square-meter open-air complex of swimming pools and public space in Medellin, Colombia.

In 2011 Callejas, in association with E Mazo, S. Mejia, and Manuel Villa, completed the renovation of El Campin, the main soccer stadium in Colombia for the 2012 sub20 world cup. Both projects were commissioned through open international competitions.

Callejas is the author of Pamphlet Architecture 33 (Princeton Architectural Press). The competition for PA33 asked previous authors in the series to nominate the architects and theorists whose work represents the most exciting design and research in the field today.

Callejas is a faculty member of Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design, where he teaches graduate-level design studios and seminars as part of the landscape architecture department.

The 2013-14 Architecture Lecture Series is funded by Grants for the Arts/San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP; Jensen Architects; John Marx / Form4; Kava Massih Architects; McCall Design Group; Perkins+Will; Pfau Long Architecture; SmithGroupJJR; BraytonHughes Design Studios; Cary Bernstein Architect; Harley Ellis Devereaux; Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects; Levy Design Partners; Stanley Saitowitz | Natoma Architects Inc.; Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture; ARCH Art & Drafting Supply; Blasen Landscape Architecture; David Gissen and Rachel Schreiber; Donald MacDonald, Architects; Gregory Andreas & Judith Rosenberg; Johanna Spilman; TANNERHECHT Architecture; and Group i.