Joshua Aidlin and David Darling Lecture (Aidlin Darling Design)

Architecture Division Lecture Series
February 29, 2016 7:00 pm
(l-r) Headshots of David Darling and Joshua Aidlin
Timken Lecture Hall, San Francisco Campus

Free and open to the public
More info:

Watch this lectur on YouTube »

With a shared interest in exploring design across a wide range of scales, programs, and disciplines, partners Joshua Aidlin and David Darling started Aidlin Darling Design around a woodshop in 1997.

With an emphasis on designing for all of the senses, they have cultivated a diverse and collaborative studio that acts as the creative hub for an extended network of builders, fabricators, artists, engineers, chefs, and other collaborators.

The firm’s work explores a closely held conviction that design can enlighten the human spirit by engaging all of the senses. This notion was recently on display at their exhibit Site & Senses at the Sonoma Valley Museum of Art, and is reflected in a diverse range of projects:

  • a restaurant in the new SFMOMA
  • a 160,000-square-foot LEED Gold brewery in San Leandro
  • Stanford University’s Windhover Contemplative Center (a nondenominational art chapel that serves as a refuge for students and faculty)

Recent work includes projects as far away as Doha Qatar and Hong Kong and as diverse as a high school in Santa Rosa, a Cultural Arts Center in San Francisco, and several wineries that push the boundaries of sustainability in agriculture and building.

In recent years, the firm has garnered over 100 regional, national, and international awards:

  • the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt’s 2013 National Design Award for their body of work
  • a James Beard Award
  • five American Architecture Awards from the Chicago Athenaeum
  • two International Civic Trust Awards
  • several regional and national awards from the AIA, IIDA, and ASLA

Learn more about CCA's Architecture Division Lecture Series including upcoming events!

Generous support for CCA public programs in San Francisco has been provided by Grants for the Arts / San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund.

The 2015-16 Architecture Division Lecture Series is funded by Kimberly and Simon Blattner; Pfau Long Architecture; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP; Jensen Architects; John Marx / Form 4; Perkins+Will; SmithGroupJJR; Blasen Landscape Architecture; Harley Ellis Devereaux; Jim Jennings Architecture; Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects; Stanley Saitowitz | Natoma Architects Inc.; ARCH Drafting Supply; Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture; Boor Bridges Architecture; Cary Bernstein Architect; TANNERHECHT Architecture; and Tucker and Marks, Inc.