16th Annual Yozo Hamaguchi Printmaking Scholarship Awards Announced

Image: Hunter BuckView slideshow 

The 16th Annual Yozo Hamaguchi Printmaking Scholarship Awards Exhibition is set for August 23–September 15, 2011, in the Isabelle Percy West Gallery on the Oakland campus, with a reception planned for Wednesday, September 7, from 6 to 8 p.m. (See the college's event calendar for complete exhibition details.)

2011 Hamaguchi Printmaking Scholarship Awardees

The 2011 Yozo Hamaguchi Printmaking Scholarship undergraduate winners listed below each received a $3,000 tuition scholarship.

Hunter Buck
Arielle Coupe
Abe Kummerow
Ryan LaBonte
Marcel Patzwald
Maiya Wiester

The 2011 Hamaguchi graduate scholarship was awarded to Amber Keig.

About the Printmaking Scholarship Awards

The purpose of the Printmaking Scholarship Awards Exhibition is to foster excellence and dedication in the study and practice of printmaking. Students must be enrolled full-time and in good academic standing to be eligible. Additionally, students must be enrolled in Printmaking during one of both semesters of the current academic year. Read more.

Students are not, however, required to be Printmaking majors; all majors are eligible provided the virtue of the character of the work submitted in print media contribute substantially to the quality of the whole body of work.

The 2011 Jury Committee

  • Richard Lang, president of Electric Works (a gallery, store, and fine art printmaking studio located in San Francisco´s SOMA district). He is a poet, short-story writer, painter, printmaker and is sometimes seen performing poetry as The Poetry Jukebox.
  • Mikae Hara, a CCA alumna (MFA Fine Arts 1986), now an Osaka University of Arts faculty member
  • Thomas Wojak, CCA Printmaking faculty