2014 Hamaguchi Scholarship Awardees Announced

The following undergraduate Printmaking students have been awarded the 2014 Yozo Hamaguchi Printmaking Scholarship, for which each student received a $3,000 tuition scholarship.

Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo
Samuel Forrest Alderson
Lisa Mathis
Angel Perez

Alexandra Phelps
Samantha Thompson

Graduate Winner
The graduate winner is Carolina Magis Weinberg.

Hamaguchi Awards Exhibition

Mark your calendar: Join us for the 19th annual Yozo Hamaguchi Printmaking Scholarship Awards exhibition August 26-September 12. (Opening reception: September 3, from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.)

Read a review »

2014 Jurors

This year’s Hamaguchi Printmaking Scholarship Awards jurors include the following artists:

Mikae Hara (MFA 1986), current Osaka University of Arts faculty member

Carole Jeung (MFA 1988)
Printmaking faculty member Carole Jeung is a painter, printmaker, educator, and graphic designer in San Francisco. Her paintings and prints can be seen at Don Soker Contemporary Art.

Visit the artist's website »

David Salgado
A master printer and owner of Trillium Graphics since September 1979, David Salgado has been a collaborative printmaker and publisher of many of the preeminent artists of the San Francisco Bay Area.

Salgado has worked with over 300 artists during his 43-year professional career including Hung Liu, Nathan Oliveira, Wayne Theibaud, R. Crumb, Don Ed Hardy, Sandow Birk, Eric Zener, Roy De Forest, Beth Van Hoesen, Mark Adams, Paul Wonner, Theophilus Brown, William Wiley, and Marcel Dzama.

Salgado has invented three proprietary techniques that are unique to Trillium Graphics: multiple-impression monotyping (paper plate monotypes), continuous-tone lithography, and Za Zhong.

About the Hamaguchi Awards

The Hamaguchi Printmaking Scholarship Awards were established to foster excellence and dedication in the study and practice of printmaking. Eligible students must be enrolled full time and reflect good academic standing at the time of application.

Additionally, students must be enrolled in a Printmaking course during one or both semesters of the current academic year.

Students are not, however, required to be Printmaking majors; the awards competition is open to all majors, provided the virtue of the character of the work submitted in print media contributes substantially to the quality of the body of work as a whole.