CCA Master Writer-in-Residence Marlon James Wins 2015 Man Booker Prize

Marlon James Marlon James at CCA Writers Series reading October 2

MFA in Writing master writer-in-residence Marlon James has been awarded the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction for A Brief History of Seven Killings (Oneworld Publications), which tells the story of the attempted assassination of Bob Marley.

Read more »

The award, announced today, marks the first time a Jamaican writer has been honored with this annual literary award.

This is the second year the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, first awarded in 1969, has been open to writers of any nationality, writing originally in English and published in the United Kingdom. (Previously the prize was open only to authors from the United Kingdom and Commonwealth, Republic of Ireland, and Zimbabwe.)

Additional accolades for James' A Brief History of Seven Killings include being a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and winning the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature for fiction, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award for fiction, and the Minnesota Book Award.

It was also a New York Times Notable Book.

Read The Guardian review »

MFA in Writing's Master Writers in Residence

CCA's MFA in Writing offers a master writer-in-residence project. The program invite one writer of national or international prominence in fiction, poetry, or nonfiction to serve as an instructor and voice on trends and issues in writing and literature.  

During the one-week residency, the master writer conducts workshops or seminars or lectures (or any combination thereof), reads selected student manuscripts, and gives a public reading as part of the program's Writers Series schedule.

Past master writers-in-residence include Will Alexander (spring 2015), Andrew Sean Greer (fall 2014), and Mary Gaitskill (fall 2013)

Other Novels by Marlon James

James' novel The Book of Night Women was a Minnesota Book Award winner and a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist as well as a finalist for the NAACP Image Award.

John Crow's Devil, his first novel, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for first fiction and the Commonwealth Writers Prize and was also a New York Times Editors' Choice.

His short fiction and nonfiction has appeared in Esquire, New York Times Magazine, Granta, Harpers, and The Caribbean Review of Books.

He's a professor at Macalester College and lives in Minneapolis.