Awards and Accolades News

Posted on Friday, February 5, 2010 by Chris Bliss

Fashion Design alumna Amy Sarabi's winning design on Project RunwayView slideshow 

CCA alumna Amy Sarabi (Fashion Design 2007) won this week’s design challenge on Season 7 of Project Runway. The assignment was to create a signature dress for the Campbell’s adDRESS Your Heart campaign. Matched with clients who suffer from heart disease, many of the designers found it particularly difficult to design for a “real” woman rather than a runway model. Not Amy.

Read the rest

Posted on Wednesday, February 3, 2010 by Jim Norrena

First Project Runway, Now Highest Ranking . . .

Apparently having CCA Fashion Design alumna Amy Sarabi competing in Season 7 of Project Runway just wasn't enough media attention—now CCA's celebrated Fashion Design Program has been praised by College Crunch as a top-10 college fashion design degree program in the United States!

Read the rest

Posted on Wednesday, January 27, 2010 by Jim Norrena

CCA Writing and Literature chair and assistant professor Aimee Phan, also an assistant professor in the college’s MFA Program in Writing, has been awarded a $25,000 National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) 2010 Literature Fellowship in Creative Writing.

Read the web feature.

Read the rest

Posted on Wednesday, January 27, 2010 by Jim Norrena

Image: Tanya Traboulsi, *Music is Life: Lebanese Sounds Stills*, a Kleio Projects exhibition

Congratulations to CCA Graduate Program in Writing alumna, writer, and visual artist Youmna Chlala for being awarded the distinguished 2009 Joseph Henry Jackson Award for her poetry manuscript The Paper Camera. In addition to a $2,000 cash award, Chlala’s manuscript will be permanently housed at UC Berkeley’s Bancroft Library. She was also invited to read from her award-winning manuscript at a separate awards ceremony held November 16 at 7 p.m. at Intersection for the Arts in San Francisco.

About the Award

Read the rest

Posted on Tuesday, January 19, 2010 by Jim Norrena

Design for the 60th Berlin International Film Festival is attributed to designers of Berlin-based Büro Otto Sauhaus

These are the words every filmmaker hopes to hear: "It is my pleasure to invite your film to the Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin." While not every filmmaker actually hears these words, CCA Media Arts faculty member Cheryl Dunye has heard them more than once—most recently for her latest feature The Owls, which has been selected to screen at the 60th Berlin International Film Festival this February.

Read the rest

Posted on Wednesday, January 13, 2010 by Jim Norrena

Design sample from Laura Schmits's portfolio

The Council of Fashion Designers America (CFDA) and the Liz Claiborne Fashion Scholarship Committee this month acknowledged CCA Fashion Design student Laura Schmits with an honorable mention distinction in the Liz Claiborne Fashion Scholarship's inaugural year.

Read the rest

Posted on Thursday, December 17, 2009 by Brenda Tucker

Amy Sarabi's CCA senior collection 2007 (photo by Arun Nevader)View slideshow 

CCA 2007 Fashion Design alumna Amy Sarabi has been chosen to compete in Season 7 of Project Runway, hosted by supermodel Heidi Klum and fashionista Tim Gunn. In this highly competitive hit series, 16 designers battle for three coveted runway shows during New York Fashion Week and a chance to launch their fashion careers.

Read the rest

Posted on Wednesday, October 14, 2009 by Jim Norrena

Michael Cooper and his hot rodView slideshow 

Internationally known sculptor, machinist, and hot rod enthusiast, Michael Cooper came to teach how synthesis, rule breaking, and planning without a plan can be a truly liberating experience. Students were lead through a vast series of technical demonstrations and told to create parts/experiments and let the materials guide them through the building process. This approach was a radical departure from the standard design procedure that we train students to use and one that was liberating, exciting, and productive.

Read the rest

Posted on Thursday, October 1, 2009 by Sarah Owens

Caroline Lu, one of BusinessWeek's "21 People Who Will Change Business"

BusinessWeek magazine has just honored the MBA in Design Strategy at California College of the Arts (CCA) with a spot on its list of the top 30 design programs in the world. The list represents the final results of extensive research and the polling of prominent academics, designers, consultants, and business managers on the best MBA or master's programs that integrate design thinking and business.

Read the rest

Posted on Wednesday, July 22, 2009 by Jim Norrena

The 14th Annual Yozo Hamaguchi Winners
2009 Printmaking Scholarship Awards

The 2009 Hamaguchi Awards exhibition is scheduled for August 27 through September 9 in the Isabelle Percy West Gallery on the Oakland campus.

The six undergraduates listed below each received a $2,500 tuition scholarship.

  • Julian Farmar-Bowers
  • Adam Gersh
  • Sam Handleman
  • Will Manville
  • Fonda Murray
  • June Yoon

The 2009 jury committee

Read the rest