First Year Advising

First Year Program Advising

CCA offers a unique advising structure for first-year students that is integrated into the First Year Program. This structure is designed to provide students with tools for navigating their academic path at CCA.

Reconnoitre Week 2014

Academic Advising's Reconnoitre Week is February 10 - 18, a week of events to help First Year students explore their direction and gain the tools and guides necessary to enter into their major. Reconnoitre week events include FY Bridge Workshops, Majors Exposed, and the Undeclared workshop Major Maps.

Majors Exposed

The Major Resource Fair will be held February 17 & 18 in the Oliver Art Center on the Oakland Campus. The fair will be opening from 11 - noon, and 3 - 4 p.m. both days.

Making connections with instructors and fellow students in your major is one of the most critical aspects of your time at CCA. This is where it all begins. Start to find your bearings in your declared major or get perspectives from multiple majors if you're still charting your path.

Come meet faculty, learn about the programs on campus, and see work from instructors and students involved in the program. Raffles and give-aways will happen every hour.

 

Bridge Workshops

Jump into Reconnoitre Week with Bridge Workshops, where you will be connected with resources, outfitted with essential knowledge, and prepared for the year ahead. Workshops will be held the follow times and locations:

-Monday, Feb 10, 3-4pm. Ralls 204

-Tuesday, Feb 11, 3-4pm. Ralls 204

-Wednesday, Feb 12, 11am-Noon. Ralls 204

-Thursday Feb 13, 11am-Noon. Carriage House 1st Floor

 

Bridge Program Advising Videos can be viewed here by major:

Animation

Architecture

Ceramics

Community Arts

Fashion Design

Film

Furniture

Glass

Graphic Design

Illustration

Industrial Design

Interaction Design

Interior Design

Jewelry / Metal Arts

Painting/Drawing

Photography

Printmaking

Sculpture

Textiles

Visual Studies

Writing and Literature

 

SPRING 2013 FIRST YEAR ADVISOR DROP-IN OFFICE HOURS

Please note: First Year Advisors hold their office hours in the Advising Office, Irwin Student Center, Room 211, Oakland Campus. If you would like to make an appointment for a time outside of drop-in hours, please e-mail your First Year Advisor.

Elin Christopherson echristopherson@cca.edu

Thursdays, 3:15PM-4:15PM

Sydney Cohen scohen@cca.edu

Mondays 2:45PM-3:45PM

Carol Elkovich celkovich@cca.edu

Mondays & Wednesdays, 4:30PM-5:30PM

Liz Leger eleger@cca.edu

Fridays, 4:00PM-5:00PM

Margo Majewska mmajewska@cca.edu

Mondays, 11:15AM-12:15PM

Daniel Nevers dnevers@cca.edu

Wednesdays, 2:30PM-3:30PM

Victoria Wagner vwagner@cca.edu

Tuesdays, 3:00PM-4:00PM

Bijan Yashar byashar@cca.edu

Tuesdays, 10:45AM-11:45AM

 

Add/Drop

During the fall add/drop period, students are encouraged to come to the Oakland advising office for drop-in help, located in room 215 in the Irwin Student Center.

For more specific information about the First Year Program curriculum, see First Year Program.